Washington Verbal Rental Agreement or Lease will be signed only when the primary applicant declares that he has not entered into a written agreement. This lease or agreement is verbal. The landlord will complete the terms of this verbal rental agreement. Verbal Rental Agreements are legal in Washington state and
(6) Agreements For Download
Security Deposit Limit and Return Policy
There is no maximum deposit statute in Washington, and the landlord is entitled to receipt the interest paid on trust account deposits as stated by RCW §§ 59.18.270.
Pets deposits and additional fees, as well as non-refundable fees, are allowed bit should not be part of the security deposit according to RCW §§ 59.18.285.
The landlord should follow RCW §§ 59.18.280 and return the deposit after the tenant moves out within 21 days.
Required Disclosure for Washington
The landlord should provide the tenant with address, name and contact information of the landlord or any authorized person at the property as well as carry out the required duties stated under section RCW §§ 59.18.060. The landlord should also disclose any information related to lead paint hazards in the premise.
The tenant is required to carry out all the responsibilities ranging from keeping the premises clean, to non-involvement in legal activities as stated under section RCW §§ 59.18.130.
Late Fees and Other Rent Rules
The landlord is supposed to give 30 days’ notice before increasing the rent for the month to month lease under section RCW §§ 59.18.140. Section (RCW §§ 59.18.115 allows the tenants to withhold the rent if essential; services are not provided as well as deducting rent when repairs are done by a licensed professional and the amount used should not exceed two months’ rent as stated under section RCW §§ 59.18.100.
Termination and Eviction Rules
The termination period given is 20 days before expiring of the ease. However, members of armed forces are allowed for less than 20 days as they can be deployed for duties under section RCW §§ 59.18.200(1a-b).
According to RCW §§ 59.12.030(3), the landlord can give a 3-day notice for nonpayment, three days for illegal activities or a nuisance under (RCW §§ 59.12.030(5) and ten days for lease violation under (RCW §§ 59.12.030(4).
The landlord-tenant laws in Washington are simple, clear and straightforward and it is essential to understand them well. An excellent grasp of the insights along the obligations and statutes enables the landlord and the tenant to solve legal issues and questions on their own without the needs of a lawyer.