The Texas sublease agreement is a legal document that is written with the approval of the landlord allowing a tenant to sublease the premises. The primary responsibilities stated in the original agreement between the landlord and the tenant, and the new tenant is bound to follow it. According to 91.005,
(5) Agreements For Download
Security deposit and return policy
In Texas, there are no statute for a maximum security deposit, security deposit interest, separate security deposit bank account, and the pet deposit and additional fees. The landlord is, however, expected to return the deposit to the tenant within 30 days after the termination of the lease agreement. According to 92.104, the landlord is required to provide a written description or an itemized list of damages and charges.
Required disclosure for Texas State
The disclosure highlights the obligations of the landlord in which the landlord must identify in writing the same, contact information, and address of the owner of the property as well the same for the property manager.
Section 92.014.5 allows the landlord to remove the personal property of a deceased tenant 30 days after sending post-market certificate notice to the stated point of contact in their agreement in a case where no one has claimed the items.
Late fees and other rent rules
There are no statute for rent increase notice according to 92.012, as well as returned check fees and withholding of rent by the tenant dues to failure of provision of essential services. The landlord is allowed to charge a reasonable amount as late fees.
The tenant is also allowed to make repairs and deduct rent, but that should not be more than one month’s rent or $500 and in which they are supposed to give prior notice to the landlord.
Termination and eviction rules
There is no statute for the eviction notice of violation of the lease. However, the Texas laws require at least one month notice to terminate the yearly lease as well as the monthly lease; however, the monthly lease notice can be as agreed in writing between the landlord and the tenant.
The Texas landlord-tenant laws are simple and easy to understand. Both parties should make a point of understanding what is required of them and act according to the requirements.