The Florida sublease agreement is a legal document between a sub lessor (original tenant) and the sub lessee (incoming tenant) giving the later the right to move in a premise and pay rent when the original tenant is gone. It is a temporary agreement that must follow the Florida sublease
(4) Agreements For Download
Security deposit and return policy
According to Florida Statutes Annotated § § 83.49 and 83.43 (12), the Florida state law has no limitation on how much a landlord can charge as a deposit. The landlord is supposed to have a separate security deposit bank account and also allowed to post a surety bind according to 83.49 (1a-b) and 83.49 (1c) respectively.
Section 83.49 (3a) highlights that the landlord has 15 days to return the refunds f the tenant is getting a full refund. The landlord should also inform the tenant via certified mail within 30 days f they are withholding any amount of the deposit and identify the money in which the money is being held and the interest if available.
Required disclosure for Florida State
The disclosure under Florida state laws requires the landlord to disclose certain information to the tenants, which is highlighted in the rental or lease agreement. First, the landlord should identify anyone they appoint to act on their behalf according to section 83.50(2).
According to section 83.67(6), the landlord cannot evict a client without going through the legal process, and the Penalty is actual damages to tenant or three months rent, whichever is greater. Also, section 83.64 states that it is unlawful for the landlord to discriminatorily increase a tenant’s rent, do away with the provided services or bring or threaten action for possession simply because the landlord is retaliating against the tenant.
Late fees and other rent rules
Florida state laws have detailed information about rent and other related rules. According to section 83.46, there is no statute for late fees and rent increase notice. The rent should be paid without notice or demand at the beginning of each period unless both parties have an agreement, according to 83.46(1).
If the landlord fails to provide essential services, the tenants are allowed to withhold rent until amendments are made. The landlord has 20 days to make the required repairs once the tenants requests before withholding the rent. Once the repairs are made, the tenants are supposed to pay the withheld rent, as stated by 83.201.
Termination and eviction rules
The termination rules depend on the tenancy period. They apply as follows:
- The Yearly Lease requires not less than 60 days prior to the end of any annual period, according to 83.57(1).
- The Quarter to Quarter lease requires not less than 30 days before the end of any quarterly period, according to 83.57(2).
- The Month-to-Month lease requires not less than 15 days before the end of any monthly period, according to 83.57(3).
- The Week-to-week requires not less than seven days before the end of any weekly period, according to 83.57(4).
Understanding the laws that govern the state of Florida is essential as it makes it easier for the involved parties as well as making the entire tenancy period smooth.