The Hawaii rental application form is a legal binding document that allows the landlord to gather information on prospective tenants. It offers standardization and protects both the landlord and the tenants during the tenancy period. According to Haw. Rev. Stat. § 521-44, the security deposit should not exceed one month,
(3) Agreements For Download
Security deposit and return policy
Hawaii state laws have a deposit limit which entails the landlord to ask for no more than one month’s Rent as deposit according to §521-44(b). Also, if the pets are allowed, a tenant should pay the pet deposit of no more than one month’s Rent. If the animal is a qualified service animal for a tenant with a disability, the separate pet desist is not paid.
Hawaii laws have a deadline for returning the security deposit once the agreement is terminated. Section §521-44(c) highlights that the landlord has 14 days to return the deposit to the tenant after the termination of the agreement.
Required disclosure for Hawaii State
The disclosure gives details of the obligations of the landlord and the tenant. Both parties must understand and adhere to what is expected of them during the tenancy period. §521-43(a)(b) states that the landlord should disclose the name, address, and contact of anyone authorized to manage the premises whether it is receiving Rent, notices or demands on behalf of the landlord.
The disclosure further highlights the duties of the landlord under §521-42 and the tenant’s Duties under §521-51). Both parties are expected to uphold their responsibilities and perform them accordingly during the entire agreement period.
Late fees and other rent rules
Hawaii State allows for late fees charges, but no statute regulates the amount. The Rent is to be paid t the beginning of every month unless agreed otherwise, according to §521-21(b). When there is a rent increase, the landlord should provide written notice before the effective date. According to §521-21(d)(e), the month t month leases require 45 days before the increment and 15-day notice for the less than a month leases.
The tenants are allowed to make repaired and deduct from Rent if the landlord fails to remedy the conditions following written notification. The tenant should also provide receipts to the landlord and deduct the cost of the repaired not exceeding $500 according to §521-64.
Termination and eviction rules
The termination and eviction rules differ with each tenancy. According to §521-71(a) and §521-71(b), the landlord must give 45 days notice in writing, and the tenant must give 28 days in writing for a month to month tenancy termination respectively. Week to week lease termination requires ten days notice.
The landlord can terminate a tenancy immediately if the tenant threatens or causes damage to a person or violates these sections; 521-51(1) or (6), §521-52, §521-70(c) and §521-72. Failure to pay requires five days to remedy or quit, according to §521-68.
It is crucial for the involved parties to understand the fundamental laws and guidelines of their rental agreement to allow for a comfortable tenancy period.